New Safe C++ Proposal

Pages: 123
The following is from the knowledge and expertise of a self-taught programming hobbyist:

The more problems in code that can be caught at compile time is a good thing, even if it requires a bit of safety scaffolding to achieve.

An example....std::format before P2216R3 (https://www.open-std.org/jtc1/sc22/wg21/docs/papers/2021/p2216r3.html)
A malformed formatting string compiled just fine without problems, at least with VS2019/2022. To catch any possible boo-boos using try/catch blocks was required. Or watch the program crash. Requiring debugging to discover why and where everything fell down and went *BOOM!*

After this proposal was applied to the C++ standard now a malformed formatting string won't compile. No need for exception handling, at least for formatting.

The few examples of C++ Safety scaffolding I see in the proposal is somewhat akin to the Desktop WinAPI SAL notation. https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/cpp/code-quality/understanding-sal?view=msvc-170

M'ok, someone is not required to use SAL to document WinAPI code, if it is missing the MSVC compiler merely whinges and still creates an executable.

The C++ Safety proposal merely ups the checking for potential run-time problems at what appears to be compile-time, reporting hazards before they are released into the wild. Using it won't likely be required, but like the C++ Core Guidelines it could be a damned good recommendation for creating more robust code with minimal fuss.

At least that is my take on what I read is being proposed. I could be wrong. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I'm comfortable with using SAL for WinAPI code, from what I've seen of how to use C++ Safety it wouldn't be a huge burden to use going forward after adoption. Every C++ standard IMO changes the language and helps make it better for the most part.

Even the back and forth method for lambda capture of the this pointer between C++ stdlib versions.

cppreference wrote:
struct S2 { void f(int i); };
void S2::f(int i)
{